Sons of The American LegionDetachment of Wisconsin 55th ANNUAL DETACHMENT CONVENTION Friday July 12, 2024

Opening

Call to Order

Friday, July 12, 2024 Detachment Commander Allen Watry (038) called to order the Detachment Convention held in Appleton, WI. at 3:00 pm.

Posting of the Colors

Invocation

POW/MIA Empty Chair Ceremony.

Blue Star Banner Ceremony

The Pledge of Allegiance

Reciting of the S.A.L. Preamble

Welcome by Detachment Commander Allen Watry (038)

Roll Call of Detachment Officers

Taken by the Detachment Adjutant David Faust (245). Voting Officers:

Taken by the betachment Aujutant butan raust (245). Toting officersi				
Allen Watry	(038)	Present		
Steven R. DuBois	(143)	Present		
Christopher Dannenmann	(434)	Present		
Jeremy Mason	(015)	Present		
Rich Ruland	(481)	Present		
John L'Huillier	(434)	Present		
Rick Helms	(070)	Excused		
Ray Dzieciol	(534)	Excused		
Christopher Sherman	(071)	Present		
Patrick N. Gryskiewicz	(093)	Present		
Randy Timms	(375)	Present		
Dave Hodgson	(522)	Present		
Ray Dzieciol	(534)	Excused		
Richard Wojciechowski	(537)	Present		
John Hoeft II	(234)	Present		
Rick A. Talford	(291)	Excused		
	Allen WatrySteven R. DuBoisChristopher DannenmannJeremy MasonRich RulandJohn L'HuillierRick HelmsRay DzieciolChristopher ShermanPatrick N. GryskiewiczRandy TimmsDave HodgsonRay DzieciolRichard WojciechowskiJohn Hoeft II	Allen Watry(038)Steven R. DuBois(143)Christopher Dannenmann(434)Jeremy Mason(015)Rich Ruland(481)John L'Huillier(434)Rick Helms(070)Ray Dzieciol(534)Christopher Sherman(071)Patrick N. Gryskiewicz(093)Randy Timms(375)Dave Hodgson(522)Ray Dzieciol(534)Richard Wojciechowski(537)John Hoeft II(234)		

Roll Call of Non-Voting Detachment Officers

Detachment Judge Advocate	Christopher Dannenmann	(434)	Present
Detachment Historian	Mike Pook	(375)	Present
Detachment Adjutant	David R. Faust	(245)	Present
Detachment Assistant Adjutant	Christopher Sherman	(071)	Present
Detachment Assistant Adjutant	Randy Timms	(375)	Present
Department S.A.L. Chairman	Michael A. Hellquist	(021)	Present

Past Detachment Commanders Present:

David R. Faust (245) Patrick N. Gryskiewicz (093) Christopher Sherman (071) Robert Sirovina Jr. (434)

Past Detachment Commanders Excused:

Gary F. Lubich (121) David Fuller (209)

Remarks by Department Commander Karl Stuvengen

Remarks were given by Department Commander Karl Stuvengen.

Roll Call of Squadrons

Roll Call of Squadrons by Detachment Adjutant David Faust (245).

District	Squad. No.	City
1	021	Kenosha
1	071	Pewaukee
1	209	Orfordville
1	294	Hartland
1	375	Mukwonago
2	015	Juneau
2	036	West Bend
2	189	Watertown
2	288	Cedarburg
2	522	Hubertus
3	245	Cross Plains
3	481	Madison
3	501	Madison
4	416	Greendale
4	434	Oak Creek
4	537	Milwaukee
6	033	Neenah
6	070	Oshkosh
6	075	Fond du Lac
6	234	Omro
6	454	Mt. Calvary
7	052	La Crosse
7	100	Sparta
7	284	Holmen
9	038	Appleton
9	055	Hortonville
9	106	Seymour
9	258	Little Chute

The following Squadrons were present:

11	093	Tomahawk
12	108	Clear Lake
12	143	Saint Croix Falls

Introduction of Guests

The following guests were introduced:

- Terry Harris from Kansas, SAL National Vice Commander
- Joseph Navarrete from New Mexico, Leading Candidate for SAL National Commander

Detachment Commander Allen Watry (038) asked all Past Detachment Commanders to stand and be recognized. Those that were listed as present during the roll call were recognized.

Detachment Commander Allen Watry (038) then asked all Past National Vice Commanders to stand and be recognized. David Faust (245) and Patrick Gryskiewicz (093) were recognized.

Detachment Commander Allen Watry (038) then asked all Past National Commanders to stand and be recognized. David Faust (245) was recognized.

Uniform Code of Procedures for Convention

Detachment Commander Allen Watry (038) called on the Convention Credentials, Resolutions and Rules Chair Christopher Dannenmann (434) for the Uniform Code of Procedures for Convention.

Chair Dannenmann announced this Convention is governed by the Uniform Code of Procedures and Standing Rules which were adopted by the Detachment Executive Committee on April 27, 2024 and subsequently published.

Convention Committee Chairmen Appointments

Detachment Commander Allen Watry (038) announced the following Convention Committee Chairmen:

- Americanism Shawn McCrary (075)
- Children and Youth Robert Sirovina, Jr. (434)
- Constitutional Amendments Christopher Dannenmann (434)
- Finance Tom Petrie (189)
- Legislative Steven R. DuBois (143)
- Membership Christopher Sherman (071)
- National Security John Hoeft II (234)
- Veterans Affairs and Rehabilitation William Olcott (258)

Detachment Vice Commander Christopher Dannenmann (434) made a motion to approve the appointments. The motion was seconded and passed.

Nominations for Detachment Officers and National Convention Delegates

Detachment Adjutant David Faust (245) explained the nomination process and National Convention delegate allocations.

The following were nominated:

Detachment Officers

Detachment Commander: Allen Watry (038) Detachment Vice Commander: Steven R. DuBois (143) Detachment Vice Commander: Christopher Dannenmann (434) Detachment Vice Commander: Jeremy Mason (015) Detachment Vice Commander: Dave Hodgson (522) Detachment Chaplain: John L'Huillier (434) Detachment Sergeant-at-Arms: Rick Helms (070) Detachment Sergeant-at-Arms: Ray Dzieciol (534) National Executive Committeeman Christopher Sherman (071) Alternate National Executive Committeeman Mike Pook (375)

National Convention Delegates

At-Large: National Executive Committeeman Christopher Sherman (071) At-Large: Past National Commander David Faust (245)

Automatic: Detachment Commander Allen Watry (038) Incoming Detachment Commander

Nominated from the floor:

Patrick Gryskiewicz (093) Chris Dannenmann (434) Robert Sirovina Jr. (434) Jeremy Mason (015) Steven R. DuBois (143) Dave Hodgson (522) Shawn McCrary (075) Randy Timms (375)

Alternate National Convention Delegates

Nominated from the floor:

Terrence Casper (294) John Hoeft II (234) Terry Barnett (416) Michael Hellquist (021) John L'Huillier (434)

Robert Sirovina Jr. (434) made motion to close all nominations and since there were no contested offices dispense with the appoint of Election Tellers. The motion was seconded and passed.

Announcement of Convention Committee Meetings

The Convention Committee Chairs announced where their respective committees will meet.

Announcement of District Caucuses

District Commanders announced where their District caucuses will meet.

General Announcements

Detachment Adjutant David Faust (245) gave a rundown of evening activities and the schedule for the remainder of the weekend.

Closing Ceremony

Benediction

Salute the Colors

Recess

With no other business, Detachment Commander Allen Watry (038) declared the 2024 Detachment Convention recessed at 4:36 pm with a call to reconvene on July 13, 2024 at 9:00 am.

Detachment Assistant Adjutant Christopher Sherman (071)