# Sons of The American Legion Detachment of Wisconsin 54th ANNUAL DETACHMENT CONVENTION Friday July 21, 2023

# **Opening**

# **Call to Order**

Friday, July 21, 2023 Detachment Commander David Fuller (209) called to order the Detachment Convention being held in Rothschild, WI. at 3:08 pm.

**Posting of the Colors** 

Invocation

POW/MIA Empty Chair Ceremony.

**Blue Star Banner Ceremony** 

The Pledge of Allegiance

**Reciting of the S.A.L. Preamble** 

Welcome by Detachment Commander David Fuller (209)

# **Roll Call of Detachment Officers**

# Taken by the Detachment Adjutant David Faust (245). Voting Officers:

	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·		
Detachment Commander	David Fuller	(209)	Present
Detachment Vice Commander	Allen Watry	(038)	Present
Detachment Vice Commander	Gary F. Lubich	(121)	Present
Detachment Vice Commander	Steven R. DuBois	(143)	Present
Detachment Vice Commander	Christopher Dannenmann	(434)	Present
Detachment Chaplain	John L'Huillier	(434)	Present
Detachment Sergeant-at-Arms	Rick Helms	(070)	Excused
Detachment Sergeant-at-Arms	Ray Dzieciol	(534)	Excused
National Executive Committeeman	Christopher Sherman	(071)	Present
Alternate National Executive Committeeman	Patrick N. Gryskiewicz	(093)	Present
1st District Commander	Randy Timms	(375)	Present
2nd District Commander	Jeremy Mason	(015)	Present
3rd District Commander	Ray Dzieciol	(534)	Excused
4th District Commander	Richard Wojciechowski	(537)	Present
6th District Commander	John Hoeft II	(234)	Present
10th District Commander	Gary F. Lubich	(121)	Present

## **Roll Call of Non-Voting Detachment Officers**

Detachment Judge Advocate	Christopher Dannenmann	(434)	Present
Detachment Historian	Mike Pook	(375)	Present
Detachment Adjutant	David R. Faust	(245)	Present
Detachment Assistant Adjutant	Christopher Sherman	(071)	Present
Department S.A.L. Chairman	Keith Lovell	(501)	Present

# **Past Detachment Commanders Present:**

David R. Faust (245)
Michael Byers (052)
Patrick N. Gryskiewicz (093) – Excused
Gary F. Lubich (121)
Christopher Sherman (071)
Robert Sirovina Jr. (434)

# **Roll Call of Squadrons**

# Roll Call of Squadrons by Detachment Adjutant David Faust (245).

The following Squadrons were present:

District	Squad. No.	City
1	071	Pewaukee
1	209	Orfordville
1	294	Hartland
1	375	Mukwonago
2	015	Juneau
2	036	West Bend
2	189	Watertown
2	215	Pardeeville
2	522	Hubertus
3	245	Cross Plains
3	481	Madison
3	501	Madison
4	416	Greendale
4	434	Oak Creek
4	537	Milwaukee
6	033	Neenah
6	234	Omro
7	052	La Crosse
8	010	Wausau
9	038	Appleton
9	055	Hortonville
9	258	Little Chute
10	121	River Falls
11	093	Tomahawk
12	108	Clear Lake
12	143	Saint Croix Falls

# **Introduction of Guests**

Department Commander Julie Muhle addressed the convention. Department President Linda Coppock addressed the convention.

# **Convention Committee Chairmen Appointments**

Detachment Commander David Fuller (209) announced the following Convention Committee Chairmen:

Sons of The American Legion Detachment of Wisconsin Detachment Convention Friday July 21, 2023

- Americanism Mark Edelblute IV (434)
- Children and Youth Robert Sirovina, Jr. (434)
- Constitutional Amendments Christopher Dannenmann (434)
- Finance Tom Petrie (189)
- Legislative Steven R. DuBois (143)
- Membership Jeremy Mason (015)
- National Security Allen Watry (038)
- Veterans Affairs and Rehabilitation Seán Patchin, Sr. (215)

# **Nominations for Detachment Officers and National Convention Delegates**

Detachment Adjutant David Faust (245) explained the nomination process and National Convention delegate allocations.

The following were nominated:

#### **Detachment Officers**

Detachment Commander: Allen Watry (038)

Detachment Vice Commander: Steven R. DuBois (143)

Detachment Vice Commander: Christopher Dannenmann (434)

Detachment Vice Commander: Jeremy Mason (015)
Detachment Vice Commander: Seán Patchin (215)
Detachment Vice Commander: Rich Ruland (481)
Detachment Chaplain: John L'Huillier (434)
Detachment Sergeant-at-Arms: Rick Helms (070)
Detachment Sergeant-at-Arms: Ray Dzieciol (534)

#### **National Convention Delegates**

At-Large: Past National Commander David Faust (245)

Automatic:

Detachment Commander David Fuller (209)

National Executive Committeeman Christopher Sherman (071)

1<sup>st</sup> District: Randy Timms (375) 2<sup>nd</sup> District: Jeremy Mason (015) 3<sup>rd</sup> District: Rich Ruland (481)

Nominated from the floor: Robert Sirovina Jr. (434) Patrick Gryskiewicz (093) Allen Watry (038) Steven R. DuBois (143) Chris Dannenmann (434) John Hoeft II (234) Joe Leone (522)

## **Alternate National Convention Delegates**

1<sup>st</sup> District: Mike Pook (375) 2<sup>nd</sup> District: Dave Hodgson (522) 3<sup>rd</sup> District: Ray Dzieciol (534)

Nominated from the floor:

Gary Lubich (121) John L'Huillier (434) Shawn McCrary (075)

## **Election Judge**

Keith Lovell (501)

Christopher Sherman (071) made motion to close all nominations and approve the appoint of the Election Judge. The motion was seconded and passed.

# **Announcement of Convention Committee Meetings**

The Convention Committee Chairs announced where their respective committees will meet.

## **Announcement of District Caucuses**

District Commanders announced where their District caucuses will meet.

### **General Announcements**

Detachment Adjutant David Faust (245) gave a rundown of evening activities and the schedule for the remainder of the weekend.

# **Closing Ceremony**

#### **Benediction**

#### Salute the Colors

#### **Recess**

With no other business, Detachment Commander David Fuller (209) declared the 2023 Detachment Convention recessed at 4:15 pm.

Detachment Assistant Adjutant Christopher Sherman (071)